The Enhanced Nursing Licensure Compact (eNLC)

What is the eNLC?

For nearly 20 years, the Nursing Licensure Compact has been operational, allowing nurses to provide care across state lines without having to gain additional licensure. In 2015, the state boards of nursing voted to add enhancements to the NLC to make it even safer than it was previously proven to be.

What enhancements were made?

Under the eNLC, applicants are required to meet a set of 11 uniform requirements in order to be eligible for a compact license. They are as follows:

  1. Meets the home state’s qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well as, all other applicable state laws
  2. Has graduated or is eligible to graduate from a licensing board-approved RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program; or has graduated from a foreign RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program that (a) has been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country and (b) has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable to a licensing board-approved prelicensure education program
  3. Has, if a graduate of a foreign prelicensure education program not taught in English or if English is not the individual’s native language, successfully passed an English proficiency examination that includes the components of reading, speaking, writing and listening
  4. Has successfully passed an NCLEX-RN® or NCLEX-PN® Examination or recognized predecessor, as applicable
  5. Is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbered license
  6. Has submitted, in connection with an application for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement, fingerprints or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state’s criminal records
  7. Has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of a felony offense under applicable state or federal criminal law
  8. Has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing as determined on a case-by-case basis
  9. Is not currently enrolled in an alternative program
  10. Is subject to self-disclosure requirements regarding current participation in an alternative program
  11. Has a valid United States Social Security number

Under eNLC legislation, any nurse with an original NLC license effective on or before July 20, 2017, will be grandfathered into the program and will not be required to meet the requirements above.

Which states are part of the eNLC?

Currently, the eNLC has 31 member states, two of which will be implementing the legislation in July, and there are 6 states with pending eNLC legislation.

Are there any states from the original NLC that have not joined the eNLC?

At this point, Rhode Island is the only member of the original NLC that has not yet enacted the eNLC legislation. The new bill was heard by Rhode Island’s House of Representatives on April 4, 2018, but is being held for further study.

CardioSolution is always on the lookout for new nurses to join our team. Want to work at one of our sites, but don’t have the corresponding state license? We’ll reimburse you for any fees associated with gaining it!